List of Indian Presidents from 1947 to 2023

India, since gaining independence in 1947, has been led by various Presidents who have played a crucial role in shaping the nation’s destiny. The position of the President of India holds great significance as the highest constitutional authority in the country. Let’s take a look at the list of Indian Presidents from 1947 to 2023, highlighting their contributions and tenure. Lets see List of Indian Presidents.

List of Indian Presidents (1947-2023)

  1. Dr. Rajendra Prasad (1950-1962): Dr. Rajendra Prasad was the first President of India and served as President for two terms. He played a pivotal role in establishing the constitutional framework of the country and setting the tone for the presidency.
  2. Dr. Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan (1962-1967): Dr. Radhakrishnan was an eminent philosopher, teacher, and statesman. During his tenure, he emphasized the importance of education and promoted the concept of Indian philosophy globally.
  3. Dr. Zakir Hussain (1967-1969): Dr. Hussain was the first Muslim President of India. He was a scholar and educationist who contributed significantly to the field of education in the country.
  4. Varahagiri Venkata Giri (1969-1974): Varahagiri Venkata Giri served as the Acting President of India before being elected as the fourth President. He focused on labor welfare and social justice during his presidency.
  5. Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed (1974-1977): Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed’s presidency was marked by the declaration of Emergency in 1975. He served as the President during a challenging period in Indian politics.
  6. Neelam Sanjiva Reddy (1977-1982): Neelam Sanjiva Reddy was the sixth President of India. He played a significant role in upholding the dignity and integrity of the presidential office.
  7. Giani Zail Singh (1982-1987): Giani Zail Singh was a seasoned politician and served as the President during a period of political turmoil. He emphasized the need for communal harmony and national unity.
  8. R. Venkataraman (1987-1992): R. Venkataraman was a distinguished lawyer and statesman. During his presidency, he focused on economic reforms and social justice.
  9. Dr. Shankar Dayal Sharma (1992-1997): Dr. Sharma served as the ninth President of India. He actively advocated for social equality, secularism, and the rights of marginalized communities.
  10. K. R. Narayanan (1997-2002): K. R. Narayanan was the first President from a Dalit (formerly known as “untouchable”) background. He was known for his simplicity, humility, and commitment to social justice.
  11. Dr. A. P. J. Abdul Kalam (2002-2007): Dr. A. P. J. Abdul Kalam was a renowned scientist and one of the most beloved Presidents of India. He played a significant role in inspiring the youth and promoting scientific advancements.
  12. Pratibha Patil (2007-2012): Pratibha Patil was the first woman President of India. During her tenure, she focused on women’s empowerment, education, and rural development.
  13. Pranab Mukherjee (2012-2017): Pranab Mukherjee was a veteran politician and statesman. He brought his vast experience to the presidency and played a key role in shaping India’s foreign policy.
  14. Ram Nath Kovind (2017-2022): Ram Nath Kovind, a former lawyer and politician, became the 14th President of India. He focused on issues like education, healthcare, and inclusivity during his tenure.
  15. Droupadi Murmu (2022–Present):-She is an Indian politician and former teacher who is serving as the 15th and current President of India since 2022. She is the first person belonging to the tribal community and also the second woman after Pratibha Patil to hold the office.

Each President has left a unique imprint on India’s political landscape, contributing to the country’s growth and development. Their roles have varied, but their commitment to upholding the constitution and serving the nation has remained constant. The office of the President continues to be a symbol of integrity, unity, and the democratic values upon which India stands.


What is the role of the President of India?

The President of India is the head of state and the highest constitutional authority in the country. The President’s role is largely ceremonial but carries significant powers and responsibilities. The President represents the nation, ensures the functioning of the government, and safeguards the Constitution.

How is the President of India elected?

The President of India is elected by an electoral college consisting of elected members of both houses of Parliament and the elected members of the State Legislative Assemblies. The election is conducted through a secret ballot and follows the system of proportional representation.

What are the qualifications to become President of India?

To be eligible for the position of President of India, a person must: Be a citizen of India
Be at least 35 years old
Qualify to be a member of the Lok Sabha (House of the People)

What is the term of the President of India?

The President of India serves a term of five years. However, the President can be re-elected and can continue in office for consecutive terms.

Leave a comment