List of Prime Ministers of India

India used to be known as the Golden Bird. India has suffered 200 years of British Ruling. we got Independence in the year 1947. Here in this article, I am sharing with you the complete list of Prime Ministers of India or Name of Prime Ministers of India after Independence. To get complete details about this, check the complete article below to get complete details regarding the prime Ministers and their ruling theme. You will also get to know about the first prime Minister of India and the current prime Minister of India etc.

List of Fundamental Rights of Indian Constitution

List of Prime Ministers of India:

After Independence, India again started healing and all the things were completely new and it bit hard to manage, etc. The first Prime Minister of India was Jawahar Lal Nehru. Now let’s see the complete list of the prime ministers of India.

Prime Ministers List of India:

There is a total of 15 prime Ministers in India including the current Prime Minister. Here we will see the Name of Prime Ministers of India and duration of working as Prime Minister of India etc.

Buy Now Buy Now Buy Now Buy Now
Buy Now Buy Now Buy Now Buy Now
Buy Now Buy Now 

Important list of Strait In India and in the World

Serial Number Name DOB Term of Office
1. Jawahar Lal Nehru (1889–1964) 5 August 1947-27 May 1964

16 years, 286 days

2. Gulzarilal Nanda (1898–1998) 27 May,1964 to 9 June 1964,

13 days

3. Lal Bahadur Shastri (1904–1966) 9 June 1964 to 11 January 1966

1 year, 216 days

4. Indira Gandhi (1917–1984) 24 January 1966 to 24 March 1977

11 years, 59 days

5. Morarji Desai (1896–1995) 24 March 1977 – 28 July 1979

2 year, 116 days

6. Charan Singh (1902–1987) 28 July 1979 to 14 Jan. 1980

170 days

7. Indira Gandhi (1917–1984) 14 Jan.1980 to 31 Oct. 1984

4 years, 291 days

8. Rajiv Gandhi (1944–1991) 31 October 1984 to 2 Dec. 1989

5 years, 32 days

9. V. P. Singh (1931–2008) 2 Dec. 1989 to 10 Nov. 1990

343 days

10. Chandra Shekhar (1927–2007) 10 November 1990 to 21 June 1991

223 days

11. P. V. Narasimha Rao (1921–2004) 21 June 1991 to 16 May 1996

4 years, 330 days

12. Atal Bihari Vajpayee (born 1924) 16 May 1996 to 1 June 1996

16 days

13. H. D. Deve Gowda (born 1933) 1 June 1996 to 21 April 1997

324 days

14. Inder Kumar Gujral (1919–2012) 21 April 1997 to 19 March 1998  332 days
15. Atal Bihari Vajpayee (born 1924) 19 March 1998 to 22 May 2004

6 years, 64 days

16. Manmohan Singh (born 1932) 22 May 2004 to 26 May 2014

10 years, 4 May 2 days

17. Narendra Modi (born 1950) 26 May 2014, Incumbent


Jawaharlal Nehru:  He is the first prime Minister of India and the longest-serving PM of India, first to die in office. he used to be known as the Chacha Nehru.

Gulzarilal Nanda: He is the first acting Prime Minister of India.

Lal Bahadur Shastri: He has given the slogan of ‘Jai Jawan Jai Kisan’ during Indo-Pak war of 1965.

Indira Gandhi: She is the first lady prime minister of India and she is known for her decisions and has done a lot for the nation’s development.

Morarji Desai: He is the oldest to become Prime Minister of India. He became Prime Minister at the age of 81 years old and first to resign from office.

Charan Singh: He is the only Prime Minister who has not faced Parliament in the Entire work period.

Indira Gandhi: She is the only lady who became Prime Minister for the second time.

Rajiv Gandhi: He is the youngest prime Minister of India. he became PM at the age of 40 years old.

List of Missiles with Range in India

V.P. Singh: He is the first Prime Minister to step down after a vote of no confidence.

Chandra Shikhar: He is the Prime Minister who belongs to  Samajwadi Janata Party.

P.V. Narshimba Rao: First Prime Minister from South India.

Atal Bihari Vajpayee: he became th first PM from the Non- Congress party.

Manmohan Singh: he is the first Sikh Prime Minister of India.

Narendra Modi: He is the current Prime Minister of India and fourth Prime Minister of India who served two consecutive tenures.

Facilities after Qualifying NDA: List of NDA Cadet facilities

The Prime is the supreme leader of the Ministry Cabinet. The Prime Minister of India has rights to fix the dates, meeting for the parliament sessions etc. The main executive powers of the government are vested in the Prime Minister while the President is the nominal head of the State. India is the only country that has Prime Minister and President both working while in other countries they have either of them. The President of India has also called the Commandar of the Indian Armed Forces.

How to become Commando in NSG? National Security Guard

You can Avail our Service:-

For purchasing any books for defence examination- Click Here

For Joining Test Series- Click Here

Visit our YouTube Channel For Free Education:- Click Here

This is all about List of Prime Ministers of India or Name of Prime Ministers of India. If you guys want to serve for the nation and wanted to clear the Defence examination, can join Major Kalshi Classes, Here we have experienced faculty for all the subjects. For more inquiries, you can call us at 9696220022 and 9696330033 or go to our official website Thank you. Name of Prime Ministers of India. 

Leave a comment