Types of Awards in Indian Armed Forces

The awards in the Indian Armed Forces show how thankful the country is to its military people for being very brave, doing great work, and always being committed. These awards are split into different groups like ones for bravery, ones for service, and ones for excellent service. They are given to people who show bravery when there’s danger, who work hard for a long time, and who make great contributions to the country’s defense. Let’s take a closer look at these awards.

Gallantry Awards : Awarded for Bravery Acts

Wartime Gallantry Awards


The Param Vir Chakra is India’s top military award. It was started on January 26, 1950. This award is given for acts of extreme bravery during battle, just like the Medal of Honor in the United States. People who get this award show incredible courage and sacrifice, and they inspire many others with their bravery.


The Maha Vir Chakra was created in 1950. It’s the second-highest award for bravery. It’s given to people who show extraordinary courage during battles, facing the enemy. This award represents the unbeatable bravery and courage shown by military members during combat.

Vir Chakra

The Vir Chakra was also started in 1950. It’s given for acts of bravery during battle, facing the enemy. This award honors the courage and determination shown by people in combat, showing their dedication to defending the nation.

Peacetime Gallantry Awards

Ashok Chakra

The Ashoka Chakra is India’s top award for bravery during peace time. It’s given for acts of courage and sacrifice outside of war. Started in 1952, this award represents the bravery and sacrifice shown by people in non-war situations.

Shaurya Chakra

Instituted in 1952, the Shaurya Chakra is given for acts of bravery that aren’t during battle. It recognizes courage and selfless sacrifice, showing the bravery of individuals in keeping peace and security.

Service Awards: Commending Long-standing Commitment

Sena, Nau Sena, Vayu Sena Medals

These medals are given to people in the Indian Army, Navy, and Air Force for their outstanding service. They honor dedication, commitment, and excellent service in each branch.

Long Service & Good Conduct Medal

The Long Service and Good Conduct Medal is given to people for their long and excellent service. It honors individuals who have served for a long time with good behavior and dedication to their duties.

Distinguished Service Awards: Recognizing Exceptional Contributions

Param Vishisht Seva Medal

The PVSM is given for the highest level of service and outstanding contributions. It represents exceptional leadership and remarkable achievements within the armed forces.

Ati Vishisht Seva Medal

Given for outstanding service of a remarkable level, the AVSM honors individuals who have made significant contributions to the defense and security of the nation.

Vishisht Seva Medal

The VSM is given to military personnel of all ranks for outstanding service. It recognizes exceptional contributions and excellent service in different areas within the armed forces.

These Medals and Honors of the Indian Armed Forces are symbols of courage, sacrifice, and dedication. They honor the brave individuals who protect the nation’s sovereignty and uphold its values of honor and integrity. Let’s always remember and honor their service and sacrifice because they are the true guardians of our freedom and security.

Frequently Asked Questions :-

Q1: The Medals and Honors of the Indian Armed Forces are special awards given to recognize the bravery, valor, and exceptional service of military personnel. They include Gallantry, Service, and Distinguished Service Awards.

Q2: The Gallantry Awards are categorized into Wartime Gallantry Awards and Peacetime Gallantry Awards. Wartime Gallantry Awards are given for acts of bravery in combat situations, while Peacetime Gallantry Awards honor acts of valor away from the battlefield.

Q3: The highest Gallantry Award in India is the Param Vir Chakra (PVC). It is awarded for acts of conspicuous gallantry in the presence of the enemy, equivalent to the Medal of Honor in the United States.

Q4: The Service Awards commend long-standing commitment and meritorious service across the Army, Navy, and Air Force. They include medals like Sena Medal, Nao Sena Medal, Vayusena Medal, and the Long Service and Good Conduct Medal.

Q5: The Distinguished Service Awards recognize exceptional contributions and distinguished service within the armed forces. They include honors like the Param Vishisht Seva Medal (PVSM), Ati Vishisht Seva Medal (AVSM), and Vishisht Seva Medal (VSM).

Q6: Recipients of these medals and honors are selected based on their acts of bravery, exceptional service, or distinguished contributions. The selection process involves thorough scrutiny and verification by respective committees and authorities.

Q7: Yes, each medal and honor has its own set of eligibility criteria based on factors such as the nature of the act, level of bravery, duration of service, and level of contribution to the nation’s defense and security.

Q8: The conferment of these medals and honors varies depending on the nature of the award. Gallantry Awards are often announced biannually, while Service Awards and Distinguished Service Awards may be conferred periodically based on recommendations and assessments.

Q9: Detailed information about these medals and honors, including eligibility criteria, selection process, and past recipients, can be found on official websites of the Indian Armed Forces and government publications.

Leave a comment