Air Chief Marshal Vivek Ram Chaudhari takes charge as new chief of Indian Air Force


Air Chief Marshal VR Chaudhari takes charge as the Chief of Air Staff, succeeded Air Chief Marshal RKS Bhadauria.

Lt Gen Gurbirpal Singh takes charge as DG of NCC

Lieutenant General Gurbirpal Singh has taken charge as the 34th Director-General of the National Cadet Corps (NCC). He succeeded Lt Gen Tarun Kumar Aich.

Indian & Indonesian Navy participate in 3rd edition of ‘Samudra Shakti’


The 3rd edition of Bilateral Exercise ‘Samudra Shakti’ conducted from September 20 to Sep 22. Indian Naval Ships Shivalik and Kadmatt had participated in the exercise. This exercise held in Jakarta, Indonesia.

SCO Exercise ‘Peaceful Mission’ 2021

The Indian military contingent comprising of an all arms combined force of 200 personnel is participating in the Exercise PEACEFUL MISSION -2021, a Joint Counter Terrorism Exercise between Shanghai Cooperation Organisation (SCO) member states. The Exercise PEACEFUL MISSION- 2021 hosted by Russia.

Gujarat to host Defence Expo 2022


The next Defence Expo will be hosted by Gujarat in 2022. This was announced by chief minister Vijay Rupani. Defence Expo-2022 will be held in Gandhinagar from 10th to 13th March next year.

Ranks & Reports

India ranks 46th in Global Innovation Index 2021

India has been ranked at 46th place in the Global Innovation Index 2021 released by World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO). 

Top 5 countries in Global Innovation Index 2021 rankings:

3rdUnited States of America61.3
4thUnited Kingdom59.8
5thRepublic of Korea59.3

NIRF India Ranking 2021

The Union Minister of Education, Dharmendra Pradhan released the NIRF India Rankings 2021.

List of Winners:

  • Overall: Indian Institute of Technology Madras (IIT Madras)
  • University: Indian Institute of Science, (IISc) Bangaluru
  • Management: Indian Institute of Management (IIM) Ahmedabad
  • College: Miranda House, Delhi
  • Pharmacy: Jamia Hamdard, New Delhi
  • Medical: All India Institute of Medical Sciences (AIIMS) Delhi
  • Engineering: Indian Institute of Technology (IIT), Madras
  • Architecture: Indian Institute of Technology, Roorkee
  • Dental: Manipal College of Dental Sciences, Udupi
  • Law: National Law School of India University (NLSUI), Bengaluru
  • Research Institutions: Indian Institute of Science, (IISc) Bangalore

Important Days

Important DayDateThemeOrganising Body
World Maritime Day30 SeptemberSeafarers at the core of shipping’s futureInternational Maritime Organization
International Translation Day 30 SeptemberUnited in translationThe International Federation of Translators (FIT)
World Heart Day 29 SeptemberUse Heart to ConnectWorld Heart Federation & WHO
World Rabies Day 28 SeptemberRabies: Facts, not FearGlobal Alliance for Rabies Control 
World Tourism Day 27 SeptemberTourism for Inclusive GrowthUnited Nations World Tourism Organization
World Rhino Day22 September World Wildlife Fund
International Day of Peace21 SeptemberRecovering Better for an Equitable and Sustainable WorldUnited Nations General Assembly    
National Engineer Day 15 September GOI
Hindi Diwas14 September GOI
14 September8th SeptemberLiteracy for a human-centred recovery: Narrowing the digital divideUNESCO


US Open 2021 

S. No.CategoryWinnerRunner Up
1.Men’s SinglesDaniil MedvedevNovak Djokovic
2.Women’s SinglesEmma RaducanuLeylah Annie Fernandez
3.Men’s DoublesRam/SalisburyJamie Murray/Bruno Soares
4.Women’s DoublesStosur/ZhangCoco Gauff/ McNally
5.Mixed DoublesKrawczyk/SalisburyGiuliana Olmos/Marcelo Arevalo

Joe Root, Eimear Richardson named ICC Players of the Month for August

England Test skipper Joe Root and Ireland’s Eimear Richardson have been voted as the winners of the ICC Players of the Month for August 2021. 

In women’s cricket, Ireland’s Eimear Richardson has had a sensational August as well and was adjudged the ICC Women’s Player of the Month for August 2021.

Asian Snooker Championship 2021

India’s Pankaj Advani won the Asian Snooker Championship 2021 by defeating Amir Sarkhosh.


Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize for science and technology 2021, were announced during the 80th foundation day of the Council for Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR). Every year, CSIR presents this award to scientists below 45 years of age for their contributions in biology, chemistry, mathematics, physics, medicine, engineering and earth, atmosphere, ocean and planetary sciences. The award comprises a cash prize of Rs 5 lakh. 

Ramon Magsaysay Award 2021 

Ramon Magsaysay Award 2021 awardees have been announced, the winners will be formally awarded the Magsaysay Award during the November 28 event at the Ramon Magsaysay Centre in Manila. The Ramon Magsaysay Award is Asia’s highest honor and is widely regarded as the region’s equivalent of the Nobel Prize. 

List of awardees of Ramon Magsaysay Awards 2021:

  • Muhammad Amjad Saqib: A visionary who founded one of the largest microfinance institutions in Pakistan, servicing millions of families.
  • Firdausi Qadri: A Bangladeshi scientist who has been instrumental in discovering vaccines that have saved millions of lives.
  • Steven Muncy: A humanitarian who has been helping the displaced refugees of Southeast Asia rebuild their lives.
  • WatchDoc: A production house that ingeniously combines documentary filmmaking and alternative platforms to highlight underreported issues in Indonesia.
  • Roberto Ballon: A fisherman from Southern Philippines who has led a community in restoring their rich aquatic resources and their primary source of livelihood.

For more blogs and details subscribe to blog.majorkalshiclasses.com

Leave a comment