Gallantry awards winner – 2021


The president of India Shri. Ram Nath Kovind who is also the supreme commander of all the three forces presented. The Gallantry awards and distinguished service decorations in defence investiture ceremony held at Rashtrapati bhawan.

It was attended by our prime minister of India Shri. Narendra Modi, Defence Minster Shri. Rajnath Singh and several other ministers and officers of armed forces along with the family of the soldiers receiving the awards. 

This year the awards are conferred to the number of brave soldiers who had sacrificed their life and contributed their valuable service to the country are awarded.

Here are the full details of the phenomenal soldiers who had received the awards this year for their exceptional courage, service and sense of duty. 

Group Captain Abhinandan Varthaman :

A household name within a day, he was among the several officers who were presented gallantry award Vir Chakra.

He knocked down Pakistani jet in revert of attack from Pakistan Air force followed by Balakot air strike executed by Indian Air force.

He held in captivity for three days by Pakistani soldiers after he chased and downed a Pakistani jet in 2019.

He showed outstanding courage, demonstrated gallantry in the face of enemy while disregarding personal safety and displayed exceptional sense of duty.
buy wellbutrin online no prescription

The citation conferred with Abhinandan Varthaman read out at the ceremony said several Pakistani Air Force fighter.

Colonel Santosh Babu

Colonel Bikumalla Santosh Babu, Commanding officer of 16 Bihar Regiment, was awarded the country’s second-highest military gallantry award honour for fighting Chinese soldiers “till his last breath”.

Colonel Babu’s mother and his wife received the award from President Ram Nath Kovind at the Rashtrapati Bhawan in New Delhi.  

Major Vibhuti Shankar Dhoundiyal

  1. He awarded posthumously ‘Shaurya Chakra’ for his exemplary leadership and unparalled courage during an operation in Jammu and Kashmir in which six top terrorist commanders were killed.
  2. He lost his life in the February 2019 in an encounter with Jaish-e- Mohammed (JeM) terrorist in Pulwama in Jammu and Kashmir.
  3. The award was received by his wife Lieutenant Nitika kaul and mother Saroj Dhoundiyal at the Ceremony.

Major Maheshkumar Bhure

He was awarded the shaurya chakra along with the other two officers.

He was presented this award for his bravery at the operation in Kashmir followed by Pulwama attack.

Captain Maheshkumar Bhure cordoned the target house and attacked with surprise for the terrorist.

He trapped the terrorist there in the house. The citation read out that terrorist attempted to break the cordon in darkness by throwing grenades and firing aimlessly.

The terrorist ran towards his positions the officer retaliated with deadly fire at close range thereby killing a terrorist and forcing other ones to retreat back.

Other awardees who have received the gallantry awards –

Naib Subedar Sombir – Shaurya Chakra

Sapper Prakash Jadhav:

Kirti Chakra

Gallantry awards

Sub-Inspector, Imran Hussain Tak

Shaurya Chakra

Sepoy Hari Singh:

Shaurya Chakra

Gallantry awards

For more blogs and notifications subscribe to

Leave a comment